Driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia carries strict consequences, which can become more severe if there is a pattern of repeat behavior. You might be tempted to believe that a first-time offense is not a big deal, but that’s not the case.
You should be aware that it can be a life-altering event even at the first DUI conviction. Therefore, all DUI charges are serious and should be approached as such.
In Georgia, if you’re pulled over and suspected of driving while intoxicated, you’ll be asked to participate in field sobriety or breathalyzer. If charged with just an initial DUI, you could be looking at:
- Jail Time: As a first offense, you could spend 24 hours up to 1 year in jail, resulting from a DUI charge.
- Fines: Ranging between $300 and up to $1,000, expect to pay fines associated with the charge.
- Loss of Driving Privileges: The first DUI charge can leave you without a license for up to 1 year.
- Reinstatement Fees: Should you lose your license, you will have to pay $210 to get it back.
- Community Service: At a minimum, you could be ordered to participate in 40 hours of community service.
Even one DUI charge can carry serious consequences. Repeated DUI charges continue to have more extensive punishments. You could be required to pay for and participate in substance abuse classes. You could lose your job and have to carry high-risk insurance.
Take all DUIs seriously
If you’ve never faced a prior DUI charge, you may be tempted to think that the courts will go easy on you. The truth is, Georgia takes DUIs seriously, and you shouldn’t let even the first charge go. Before facing the legal consequences alone, you might want to become more familiar with the laws regarding DUI, to ensure rights are protected. Having legal guidance on your side will help with this.